EMPIRE OF PAIN

EMPIRE OF PAIN

THE SECRET HISTORY OF THE SACKLER DYNASTY

PATRICK RADDEN KEEFE

20,25 €
IVA inclós
Preguntar disponibilitat
Editorial:
BANTAM
Any d'edició:
2021
Matèria
Crime, thrillers & mystery
ISBN:
978-0-385-54774-1
Pàgines:
535
Enquadernació:
Paperback

The Sackler name adorns the walls of many storied institutionsHarvard, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Oxford, the Louvre. They are one of the richest families in the world, known for their lavish donations to the arts and the sciences. The source of the family fortune was vague, however, until it emerged that the Sacklers were responsible for making and marketing a blockbuster painkiller that was the catalyst for the opioid crisis. Empire of Pain begins with the story of three doctor brothers, Raymond, Mortimer and the incalculably energetic Arthur, who weathered the poverty of the Great Depression and appalling anti-Semitism. Working at a barbaric mental institution, Arthur saw a better way and conducted groundbreaking research into drug treatments. He also had a genius for marketing, especially for pharmaceuticals, and bought a small ad firm. Arthur devised the marketing for Valium, and built the first great Sackler fortune. He purchased a drug manufacturer, Purdue Frederick, which would be run by Raymond and Mortimer. The brothers began collecting art, and wives, and grand residences in exotic locales. Their children and grandchildren grew up in luxury. Forty years later, Raymonds son Richard ran the family-owned Purdue. The template Arthur Sackler created to sell Valiumco-opting doctors, influencing the FDA, downplaying the drugs addictivenesswas employed to launch a far more potent product: OxyContin. The drug went on to generate some thirty-five billion dollars in revenue, and to launch a public health crisis in which hundreds of thousands would die. This is the saga of three generations of a single family and the mark they would leave on the world, a tale that moves from the bustling streets of early twentieth-century Brooklyn to the seaside palaces of Greenwich, Connecticut, and Cap dAntibes to the corridors of power in Washington, D.C. Empire of Pain chronicles the multiple investigations of the Sacklers and their company, and the scorched-earth legal tactics that the family has used to evade accountability. The history of the Sackler dynasty is rife with dramabaroque personal lives; bitter disputes over estates; fistfights in boardrooms; glittering art collections; Machiavellian courtroom maneuvers; and the calculated use of money to burnish reputations and crush the less powerful. Empire of Pain is a masterpiece of narrative reporting and writing, exhaustively documented and ferociously compelling. It is a portrait of the excesses of Americas second Gilded Age, a study of impunity among the super elite and a relentless investigation of the naked greed and indifference to human suffering that built one of the worlds great fortunes.

Articles relacionats

  • THE SAFETY NET
    CAMILLERI, ANDREA
    Set on the coast of Sicily, The Safety Net is the twenty-fifth novel in the bestselling Inspector Montalbano series by Andrea Camilleri. ***Adapted for BBC4's Inspector Montalbano series*** Vigata is bustling as the new filming location for a Swedish television series set in 1950. In the production frenzy, the director asks the locals to track down movies and vintage photos to ...
    Disponibilitat inmediata

    12,95 €

  • MY LOVELY WIFE
    SAMANTHA DOWNING
    "The twist at the end of the first chapter made me read through the night" Jane CorryIntroducing the next generation of domestic thriller...Every marriage has secrets. Everyone has flaws. Your wife isn't perfect - you know that - but then again nor are you.But now a serial killer is on the loose in your small town, preying on young women. Fear is driving your well-behaved young...
    Disponibilitat inmediata

    12,40 €

  • THE ICE CHILD
    LACKBERG, CAMILLA
    No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.SEE NO EVILIt's January in the peaceful seaside resort of Fjallbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the...
    Disponibilitat inmediata

    9,95 €

  • MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS
    CHRISTIE, AGATHA
    Agatha Christie's most famous murder mystery, reissued with a striking new cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers.Just after midnight, a snowdrift stops the Orient Express in its tracks. The luxurious train is surprisingly full for the time of the year, but by the morning it is one passenger fewer. An American tycoon lies dead ...
    Disponibilitat inmediata

    9,95 €

  • REBECCA
    MAURIER, DAPHNE DU
    On a trip to the South of France, the shy heroine of Rebecca falls in love with Maxim de Winter, a handsome widower. Although his proposal comes as a surprise, she happily agrees to marry him. But as they arrive at her husband's home, Manderley, a change comes over Maxim, and the young bride is filled with dread. Friendless in the isolated mansion, she realises that she barely ...
    Disponibilitat inmediata

    11,85 €

  • THE PRESIDENT IS MISSING
    PRESIDENT BILL CLINTON , JAMES PATTERSON
    The President is missing.As an unprecedented cyberterrorist attack cripples the United States, the President must face an unthinkable truth:There is a traitor in his Cabinet. His life is in danger.And the only way to stay ahead of the shadowy forces tearing at the heart of America is to go off the grid, leaving behind his presidential protection. The President must go missing -...
    Disponibilitat inmediata

    13,35 €